Life time EAPM awardees 2017

Per_Fink, picture
Allison Creed Award


The 2017 Allison Creed Award for outstanding contribution to research in the field of psychosomatic medicine has been awarded to Professor Per Fink ,  of Aarhus University Hospital, Denmark. Per Fink has published over 200 scientific papers and written and co-edited several important texts. He is recognised as a world expert and leading international  researcher in the field of medically unexplained symptoms.  He has advanced the field by developing the concept of bodily distress syndrome, which arose from his own empirical work studying people with unexplained physical symptoms. He has also pioneered work in primary care,  training GPs to better manage and help patients with medically unexplained symptoms (The TERM project) . He has also led several studies evaluating the benefits of both individual and group based CBT treatments for people with distressing somatic symptoms, and has also carried out a series of long term evaluations of the health economic costs of patients with bodily distress syndrome. He has received many awards over the course of his career  and is highly regarded by his fellow research colleagues. Despite all the accolades he has received over his career, he remains kind, approachable, friendly and modest.


Frits Huyse Award: Prof. Graça Cardoso, Lisbon

EAPM Awards

The EAPM assigns annually three different types of Awards: